DIY Gold Painted Pillows

2 Aug

I have a quick project to share with you today. It’s really easy and can be done in an afternoon. diy gold painted pillows

If you have some pillows you want to jazz up then this is for you. Martha Stewart Metallic Paint. Every time I went to Home Depot I would eyeball this paint. I don’t know what took me so long but I finally bought some.

Martha Stewart Gold PaintThere are about a hundred things I wanted to use this paint on but I decided to start with these plain toss pillows I made a while ago. They were nothing special. I had simply sewn together some old fabric swatches I had lying around. They are so much better now.

This is what I started with.

Martha Stewart Gold Paint

DIY painted pillow

DIY painted pillow

Yeah they are FAR from perfect but keep in mind sewing is “not mah thang”.

I taped off the first pillow so that I would end up with two bold stripes through the center of the pillow. I measured about 3 1/2″ between the strips of tape.

DIY painted pillows

Once I started painting I quickly realized it would work much better with a paint brush.

DIY gold painted pillow

The fabric is textured so it was easier to get the paint to stick in all the grooves with a brush.

A couple of things I learned about painting fabric. 

  • Paint on top of and away from the tape. Not toward it. It felt like the paint would easily slide under the tape.
  • Don’t put a lot of paint on the brush but saturate the fabric really well so you only have to apply one coat.

For the second pillow I wanted a diagonal pattern so I placed the tape in diagonal strips about 3″ apart.

DIY gold painted pillow

This is how they turned out.

diy gold painted pillows

diy gold painted pillowsdiy gold painted pillowsdiy gold painted pillowsdiy gold painted pillows

This was so easy. Seriously, it only took a couple of hours including dry time. I LOVE this paint. Thanks Martha! I can’t wait to try it on some other things. Until now, painting something gold required spray painting which meant if it was raining I could forget it. Oh, and it’s kind of hard to tell in the photos but it has a GORGEOUS metallic sheen and it isn’t as deep of a gold that you get from most spray paints. LOVE!

I’m still playing around with where I want to keep the pillows but for now they look pretty good in the living room. Oh, and I now have new inspiration to refinish our dining chairs. Maybe I can get to that soon….

So have you ever painted fabric? Share!!

This is where I’ll be linking up this week. Come check it out!

Liz Marie Blog

Suburbs Mama

DIY Showoff

Give Me the Goods Monday @ Rain On a Tin Roof

If It’s Not Baroque

The Blissful Bee

Home Coming

 

 photo name_zpse215d949.png

23 Responses to “DIY Gold Painted Pillows”

  1. Betty Wright August 4, 2013 at 9:26 pm #

    Have u ever painted a couch. I have a fabric covered couch that is in good shape but material is stained. Wondering if this will work for this couch. It is in the sunroom? I appreciate any feedback. Thank you Betty

    • Stephanie Kent @ The Styled Soul August 5, 2013 at 10:25 am #

      Hi Betty! I haven’t ever painted anything I’m actually going to sit on although I do plan on painting our dining chair seats. I will tell you the fabric on the pillows where it was painted is a little stiff. I would think you could probably use a paint specifically for fabric. You should be able to pick that up at Hobby Lobby or Michael’s.

      Good luck and thanks for stopping by!

  2. thecasualcraftlete August 5, 2013 at 9:30 am #

    Wow! Those pillows look great! Amazing makeover. Thanks for sharing!

    Katie @thecasualcraftlete.com

  3. Corey August 5, 2013 at 9:38 am #

    These look so expensive! Great tips. Im getting ready to paint some fabric so they will come in handy! Just discovered your blog and will be following on bloglovin! I’d love for you to stop by! Corey from tinysidekick.com

  4. frenchhensnest August 5, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    Love your pillows! MS also makes a fabric additive for painting fabric. Your method would work great for adding a design to plain draperies. Great project!

    Have a blessed week,
    Linda at The French Hens Nest

    • Stephanie Kent @ The Styled Soul August 5, 2013 at 10:42 am #

      Hi Linda! Thanks for the advice. I AM planning on painting some more fabric very soon, so I will keep that in mind.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Home Coming August 5, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

    I’m obsessed. These are gorgeous! I’d love for you to link up to The DIY’ers! http://homecomingmn.blogspot.com/2013/08/the-diyers-and-my-new-rug.html

  6. Lauren August 5, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    I just found your blog and love it. New favorite. I love these pillows too. Don’t you just love paint. I’d love it if you would share this over at my link party that is going on right now.

    http://www.ifitsnotbaroquedesignblog.blogspot.com/

  7. Krista thehappyhousie August 7, 2013 at 1:36 am #

    I love these Stephanie! So pretty! I am totally inspired – must pin!

  8. Lauren August 8, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    I am featuring your painted pillows on my blog today. Thanks for linking it up. I hope to see you tomorrow for another link party.

    http://ifitsnotbaroquedesignblog.blogspot.com/

  9. Redesigned By M August 12, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    Excellent job! I agree with another reader who posted that these look expensive. Love the sophisticated color combinations. ~M.

    This Blog Has Moved!

  10. Home Coming August 13, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    Wanted you to know you’ve been featured on The DIY’ers this week. Great job! http://homecomingmn.blogspot.com/2013/08/the-diyers-and-weekend.html

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. "Inspire Me Please" Weekend Blog Hop #23 - Love of Family & Home - August 8, 2013

    […] DIY Gold Painted Pillows via The Styled Soul […]

I love to chat! Post your thoughts, comments or questions here! (They will appear after I have read them). Thanks for stopping by!