Refinished Kitchen Island

13 Oct

If you’re a DIYer, and you’re anything like me, then you have some unfinished projects around your house. I have about a gazillion. Well, this awesome fall weather we’re having has inspired me to finish up some of these projects. First on the list? Painting and staining this island. 

Refinished Kitchen Island

frig beforea

It used to house our coffee machines before I added the industrial shelving unit. Once I did that I decided to use this piece as an island. And I’m still working on painting that refrigerator. (Remember all those unfinished projects I was talking about?)

Birchwood White

This little makeover was pretty simple. I used some white paint and sandpaper for the base. Birchwood white by Valspar for the first coat  and bright white mystery paint from my basement for the second coat. By the way, this was a free sample of paint. Always check your decorating magazines for a coupon from Lowe’s. Eight ounces of free paint? Yes please.  

DIY Vinegar Stain

For the top I used a DIY vinegar stain followed by a Minwax stain in Dark Walnut. You can read more about the vinegar stain here. It creates a great ashy finish. 

minwaxdarkwalnut

Then I added some simple bun feet using straight top plates.

furniture feet and straight top plates

Before

kitchen island before

After

kitchen island makeover after

No Island

kitchen makeover

Island

painted kitchen islandKitchen island makeoverpainted kitchen islandsteel wool and vinegar stain for island

I always thought our kitchen was too small for an island but it actually makes it so much more functional because it gives us more counter space to work with. It’s a small change but it makes a big difference. So that’s one thing I can cross off the list! What’s on your list of unfinished projects?

Linking up at some great linky parties this week. Liz Marie Blog / DIY Showoff / Rain on a Tin Roof / The Shabby Nest  / Suburbs Mama / Domestically Speaking / Start at Home

stephanie

4 Responses to “Refinished Kitchen Island”

  1. brookelarsenphotography October 16, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

    I love the refinish!! It adds so much! Thank you for linking up!! Oh and I need to try that vinegar stain!!

    Brooke
    startathome.blogspot.com

  2. Amy @ Homey Oh My! October 22, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

    This is so lovely! I love your style! It fits perfectly in your kitchen
    I got that same coupon but am driving myself crazy not knowing what color to pick :P

    • Stephanie Kent @ The Styled Soul October 23, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

      Thanks Amy! There is still a lot of work to do in the kitchen but it’s coming along. And yes, it’s tough to choose a color!

I love to chat! Post your thoughts, comments or questions here! (They will appear after I have read them). Thanks for stopping by!