Thrift Store Art Makeover: Chic Horses

30 Aug

Hey there! Well this week I’m finally adding some artwork to our home that I’ve been thinking about for the longest. This is proof that pretty artwork doesn’t have to be expensive. For me, it just required a little patience. 

DIY Horse Art

 After weeks of searching I found what I needed.

thrift store frame

1. I had to find the perfect frame. I picked this up at a thrift store for $10.00. 

 

Horse Poster from Hobby Lobby

2. I had to find the perfect horse print. I’ve seen many photos and paintings of horses but this one just spoke to me. Ya know what I mean? I found this at Hobby Lobby. With their weekly 40% off coupon it only cost around $18.00.

 

Gold and White Spray Paint

3. I wanted it framed in gold and matted in white. (The frame was already gold but was kind of dated, in a faux finish.)  I picked up these spray paints for less than $10.00. Gold for the frame and white for the mat board.

Before

thrift store frame

After

DIY Horse Art

Less than $40.00 for a large, matted and framed print. Not bad! These guys are getting a home above the fireplace in the living room. I’ll have more pics for you once I get it in place.

Linking up at some great linky parties this week!

Liz Marie Blog

Suburbs Mama

Start at Home

DIY Showoff

Rain On a Tin Roof

Love Grows Wild

The Blissful Bee

A Stylish Interior

 photo name_zpse215d949.png

8 Responses to “Thrift Store Art Makeover: Chic Horses”

  1. Flor de Maria August 30, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    Love the end result–did you have any problems with the mat warping after spraying it with paint?

    • Stephanie Kent @ The Styled Soul August 30, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

      Thanks so much! No, the mat didn’t warp at all. I used several thin layers of spray paint. It actually took the whole can to cover it completely and I framed it as soon as it dried.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. christykjames September 1, 2013 at 7:26 am #

    This looks like a really expensive framed print now! I love that picture:)

    • Stephanie Kent @ The Styled Soul September 1, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

      Hi Christy! Thanks so much! I know I could have gone out and bought something like this, already done, but I’m way too cheap.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. craftdictator September 3, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    You did a great job with this! I”m co-hosting Tell Me Tuesday this week and you should come link up with us at http://www.craftdictator.com!!

  4. brookelarsenphotography September 4, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    What a fun idea, I love the horses and how you pieced everything together to create a masterpiece! Thank you for linking up at my Furniture and Paint Party…hope to see you again tonight!

    Brooke
    startathome.blogspot.com

I love to chat! Post your thoughts, comments or questions here! (They will appear after I have read them). Thanks for stopping by!